Mid Range Priced Binos

Hey everyone,

Been looking to upgrade my Leupold Mojave Binos for my Wyoming trip. I'm not going to spend the coin to go to alpha glass at this point. I'd like to. I can't afford the divorce. I'm not an expert in binos and don't care too much about splitting hairs over CA, Rolling Ball, Pincushion, etc. I'm looking for a solid pair that is not a lateral move from my 5 year old BX-3 Mojave from Leupold.

I looked through quite a bit of glass and narrowed it down to two I really liked. The Vortex Viper 10 x 42 impressed me outdoors. It was nice and bright and clear glass. The other pair I really liked and was going to purchase was the Zeiss Conquest. However, I stopped at another two stores and the Conquests I looked through outdoors had a "wavy" view that I could not focus out and it concerns me that two of the three pairs of conquests I looked through had this. I'm not sure if its in my eyes or an alignment issue. On one pair the diopter setting was nearly maxed out in one direction. I have good eyes and do not wear glasses.

Anyone have field experience with either of these? Thank you.

I have both, my wife uses the vipers and I use the conquests. The Zeiss are the better binos, but not by a huge margin. I have not had any wavy issues with either... My Zeiss diopter is just barely off center and I can focus near and far with it. They have a five year no fault warranty, I had a small scratch on my lens and I had a new pair within two weeks.

We like both pairs a lot... We agree the conquests are better - clearer and slightly better at low light, again not by a huge margin. You can find open box demos for a couple hundred off to make it more cost effective as well.

Either pair will be a nice upgrade. I went from a monarch 5 to the Zeiss and it was a pretty significant step up and don't feel ill really have a desire to upgrade anytime soon.

RCA Dog

Lil-Rokslider