Warming up vehicles in winter

Ucsdryder

WKR
Do you warm up your vehicle before driving? If so, for how long?

I read an article that said it’s actually bad for your vehicle to warm more than a minute or so and the best thing to do is to driving immediately but slowly for the first few minutes. I’m curious if this is true or if this is part of a green agenda.

Also, what about utvs? On cold mornings hunting, I always let my engine temp get up and over 100 before driving. Am I doing my razor a favor or a disservice by warming up for 5 minutes?

svivian

WKR
As a diesel driver my truck always warms up for about 10 minutes when it’s below 40 out

My moms Toyota rav 4 went 400,000 miles with basic maintenance and was never warmed up and driven immediately at hwy speeds 5 days a week during winters. Even Below zero be damned

So 🤷🏻‍♂️

SWOHTR

WKR
What? At first glance, that's stupid. What reasons did they give for "it's bad to let it idle and warm up"? I warm mine up for 5-15 minutes depending on the temperatures. I do not advise simply starting and driving. Fluids are not circulated or up to temp.

On the ship, we start engines and let them idle, warm up, and conduct "idle checks" prior to placing online. The only times we will "online start" are in the event of an emergency (just lost a generator, torpedo in the water, etc.).

Do these same people advise skipping a warmup prior to a workout?

Edit: Please post link to article if possible.

I warm mine up if it’s cold. Probably 10 minutes or so usually. It would be a much shorter time but I have a 1 and a 3 year old in car seats and I like to have the inside at least warm ish before I put them in.

BuckRut

Lil-Rokslider
What? At first glance, that's stupid. What reasons did they give for "it's bad to let it idle and warm up"? I warm mine up for 5-15 minutes depending on the temperatures. I do not advise simply starting and driving. Fluids are not circulated or up to temp.