Year Round Training

BearGuy

FNG
Just looking to find out what people do throughout the year to stay in shape. I hunt the mountains of Montana and in the winters it gets tough to keep in shape from the fall. I’m a carpenter so my job is pretty labor intensive as it is but it’s not quite enough. Any ideas or input is appreciated!

Post hunting season - October - > March
I train in a powerbuilding (strength and hypertrophy) phase in the gym
Fat bike, snowshoe and shovel snow

March - > June
I train for endurance - strength
I combine powerlifting, with strongman style training and kettlebells
I wear a weight vest on dog walks and do some road biking

June - Sept
I train for strength - endurance
In the gym I continue with the power-strongman training. I significantly reduce the volume and increase the weight.
I ruck twice, one day light long distance and the other heavy short distance
I mountain bike, backpack and begin scouting

Year round constants are Martial Arts + heavy squats, deadlifts and presses

180ls1

WKR
Honestly, that's a great time of year to focus on gaining muscle (lifting). Lots of protein in the freezer and calories abound from the holidays.

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
I always cringe when I see folks post up their 6, 8 or 10 week "hunting program". To stay in mountain shape a person needs work out year round imho. Building an aerobic base is measured in years, not weeks- so a person needs time on his feet, lots of time.

I'm blessed with no time constraints (the benefit of being retired!)- I'm hiking daily and strength training twice a week. I try to get in several backpacking trips outside of hunting season. The long miles and elevation gain/loss on these trips very closely mimic backpack hunting (sans the 80+ lb pack outs :)). They also give you a great opportunity to get your gear dialed in.