200 yard grouping

mww982

WKR
I have two rifles, both X-Bolts, one is a 7mm-08 and the other is a .300 Win Mag. The 7mm-08 is going to be mainly my deer rifle. The .300 Win Mag is my big game\western rifle. I am a pretty novice rifle shooter and know I need to practice more to get comfortable at longer ranges, as of right now my max with either gun will most likely be 300 yards. I found the bullet, federal 200 grain terminal ascents, my .300 win mag likes. Still looking for a bullet that my 7mm-08, so far the best of the bunch I have tested (norma, federal whitetail, and core-lokt), the core-lokt has grouped the best. I will be testing Nosler Accubond 140's later this week.

The fist picture is my 100 yard grouping done the week before, which I am happy with. The second picture is a six-round group at 200 yards with the .300. I let the barrel cool down and shot the 7mm-08 at the same distance, third picture. Then the last picture is the .300 win mag again. I did wait sometime between shots on the last grouping, but between the sun and the morning heating up, the barrel was still pretty warm.

Would you be okay with these groupings at 200 yards initially? I'm definitely going to practice some more but just curious on y'alls thoughts.

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    103.4 KB · Views: 141
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    122.6 KB · Views: 139
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    124.4 KB · Views: 137
  • 4.jpg
    4.jpg
    113.4 KB · Views: 136

WKR

WKR
Both of those 200 yard groups are a touch over 2 moa. Meaning at 300 yards your point of impact could be off your point of aim as much as 6.5 inches.

First, what size are the squares? 1/2" or 1"? Second, how far are you planning to shoot?

For the 7mm-8 you went from a 2x2 to a 5x5. That is more than a MOA increase for adding just another 100 yards.