2022 Ford Lightning

I went a head and reserved one this morning. Ill make my final decision once you can actually build one and see what the final price tag is. It will do everything I use my current F-150 for except one very out of the way hunting trip. No one in their right mind would drive an expensive truck there anyways. Ill keep the old work truck around for that.

txtransplant

Lil-Rokslider
Yeah, it's pretty exciting to see full power, full range pickups coming to market. I do wonder about range while towing, at least in the early models. I was thinking this morning - I wonder if someone will start making trailers with battery packs to boost the range of the vehicle towing it? I'm not an engineer, so there are probably some technical challenges to something like that. If they can get a full size truck to 250+ mile range while towing, this will really start to take off.

Reactions: 307
How many chips you think that thing takes?...there are 20K super duties parked at the KY speedway waiting on chips..most Ford factories will be shutting down 5-31 till mid July...I ordered my 250 in Feb...still not here...I will say at least mid 23 before you get it...but I am interested so see how does..if they ever make it.

OP
D
I think the biggest hesitation most outdoor enthusiasts have is overnights with no power source to charge. If they could come out with affordable generators, the size most of us already have for remote trailer camping that can safely charge these things, we could put our mind at ease.
This is the first, in my opinion, attempt at a real electric truck aimed at the typical truck owner, I see a lot of new advances in the next 10 years for sure.

big44a4

WKR
I’m out. I drive 200-300 miles a day for work. Not to mention being a slave to my utility company who are assholes anyways. Can’t make progress if don’t ever get started, but currently these won’t work for me.