A couple of firsts....

I wrote and article awhile ago about the real reason why we hunt. We shouldn't hunt soley for antlers. We hunt for memories...with friends, family, and too feed our families. My last hunt with my father before he passed, reassured why I hunt. The "true meaning of hunting" as I called it. Well with that said I had a lesson once again in why we hunt. and that there is more to hunting than just antlers or pics for face book.

I have been laying low in regards to social media for the year 2013. Not sharing or posting too many pics. But I figured this was worth sharing.

Ruger is a pretty cool little kid. I have known him for a few years after he lost his father. Aside from the badass name, Ruger is about the kindess kid you will ever meet. Very caring to others. Yet a warrior. Its pretty neat to be with him teaching the ropes of hunting. I got to thinking with a bull and buck tag, I would try to get him some big ones. Would be cool to shoot a monster bull and buck for your 1st huh?

The little warrior. Scouting some country.

Some of you might remember Ruger's 1st elk hunt from last year. I shared it with the Rokslide community. It was a awesome hunt for a special kid. He made a great shot on a cow. This year he said "Maybe I will try for a bull..I would like to have the antlers to save..." So we put in for a rifle bull tag and he drew. I was pretty excited, thinking about the potential of Ruger killing a big bull.

The plan was to use my dad's 7 mm mag again. ( A rifle everyone says is too big for Ruger, but like I said he is a warrior haha). I'm not much of a gun guru, I just use whatever to get things done.

For this hunt Aron and Joe Baht said they were gonna come along on the hunt, but they ended up going Mtn Goat scounting. The day before opening day I got sick with some stomach virus thing that cut into Ruger's opening day.