AC Joint Arthritis Anyone?

So I was hit with the preseason jitters pretty hard this year. I have target panic, but usually I can get myself back to my baseline. For whatever reason, this year I could not get myself back to my blueprinted shot, so I broke things down to the point of blank bailing.

Once I pulled through my shot, it became extremely obvious as to why my form was off. Pulling through my shot results in pain in my AC joint. From what I can put together, punching the trigger and not loading my back were/are ways of me guarding my shoulder.

An ortho doc had previously diagnosed me with arthritis in my AC joint and did a cortisone injection in February. Sure enough, by mid March I was shooting lights out, but my form has degraded since. This has been my worst summer since I started shooting in terms of my performance at the 3-D range and I think it all ties back to subconsciously guarding my shoulder, which leads to all sorts of form issues.

I'm wondering if anyone can cheer me up with success stories coming back from these kinds of injuries and what I can expect if I go down the surgical route. Like I said, it seems like cortisone lasts maybe two months before my symptoms come back and I start guarding my shoulder and my groups open up.

The good news is that I didn't draw any decent tags this year, so I think my plans are to shut things down for the season and make sure I'm as close to 100% as possible for 2024.

MattB

WKR
No AC joint arthritis here (have separated mine though), but what release style are you shooting? If an index style, this might be a good window to learn to shoot a back tension release.

You may want to revisit the poundage you are shooting too, unfortunately.

OP
C
No AC joint arthritis here (have separated mine though), but what release style are you shooting? If an index style, this might be a good window to learn to shoot a back tension release.

You may want to revisit the poundage you are shooting too, unfortunately.