Ashby

Payback

FNG
First, sorry for the newbie question. The search function isn’t turning up what I’m looking for.
Second, sorry if I start a flame war. Not my intent.

I’m brand new to archery, so naturally I’m looking around and trying to learn as much as possible. I keep hearing about Dr. Ashby and all the testing he’s done. He’s put out some pretty clear guidelines on what gives you the best arrow performance. I haven’t seen any testing results that contradict his findings. Why doesn’t everyone follow his recommendations? I’m sure I’m missing something, I just don’t know what it is.

Beendare

WKR
There is some good stuff in those Ashby tests....like a heavy arrow penetrates better...and using a strong BH that doesn't break.

I've seen arrows a lot lighter than his "650gr bone threshold" recommendation blow through big bones.

I've seen hundreds of animals killed with arrows that aren't even close to what Ashby recommends. Thus....I don't put much stock in his insistence a guy needs to shoot massive FOC and a very heavy arrow. His FOC argument goes against what every single pro in every archery discipline shoots. AND Easton who wrote the book on arrows recommends avg FOC 8-16%.

Keep in mind...some of Ashby's theories were developed with rubber bands and weighted straws...and almost all of his testing was him shooting a longbow not controlled research or some peer reviewed scientific study. One guys observations.

Bottom line; Some good stuff in there........but use some common sense.

_____

Moneyball

WKR
There is some good stuff in those Ashby tests....like a heavy arrow penetrates better...and using a strong BH that doesn't break.

I've seen arrows a lot lighter than his "650gr bone threshold" recommendation blow through big bones.