Backcountry food questions

CalonDale

FNG
I am new to backcountry hunting and want to know what all you guys pack for food per day. I'm even more curious as to what everyone does for breakfast and lunch. Thanks

Trial153

WKR
Two packets of instant oatmeal and coffee cliff bar works for me....i also like.the peak refuel mountain berry deals.
Off grid sausage scramble is good too.

I can keep total food weight to about 1.5 pounds a day...and i am OK....little grumpy but ok.

Last edited:

Youngbuck86

Lil-Rokslider
Bfast, oatmeal is good. My fave lunch is galo salami, cream cheese on bagels.

Youngbuck86

Lil-Rokslider
how long does the lunch stay good for

If it's cold out a long time, like a week. Galo salami doesn't need to be refrigerated. They sell it by the pepperoni that's in a bag at the grocery store. If it is a hot hunt I don't bring cream cheese.

Jordan Budd

Super Moderator
Staff member

Napperm4

WKR
Breakfast - either instant oatmeal and coffee, a blend I make of granola. Freeze dried fruit and Nido powder in a freezer bag. Lately I’ve been doing the peak refuel mountain berry meals.

Lunch - wraps and a pack of foil tuna, chicken, spam singles or summer sausage cut up. I portion out and vacuum seal old cheddar wrapped in cheesecloth. I’ve gotten through month long summer backpacking trips that way. I keep a vial of hot sauce and mayo / mustard packs from fast food restaurants to spice things up.

Dinner - either a home made dehydrated meal or one of the Peak Refuel entrees

Snacks through the day like nuts, cheese, jerky, bars, cliff blocks, stinger waffles, hummus and crackers etc.

I use a bladder but bring a smart water bottle and some Gatorade drops for an occasional treat.

Done right I get about 4000 calories around 2 lbs of food per day

Poser

WKR
Breakfast: 2 McCann’s Irish Otmeal packs + generous amounts of powdered butter. Coffee + butter.