Best Rucking Set Up

Cdroot89

Lil-Rokslider
Is there anyone on here who has experience with rucking? I have been using my Mystery Ranch Guidelight MT frame with a mule bag and putting a 50 lb pig egg in the meat shelf. Most of the guys I work with run an ALICE pack on a frame with either the issued straps or the tactical tailor straps. I am thinking that I will switch to the ALICE with the tactical tailor straps. Does anyone have experience with the super straps vs low profile adjustable super straps and the super belt vs the ergo super belt?

Does anyone have any suggestions for better set ups? I know that rucking is never really truly comfortable but I am trying to find the most comfortable set up. I am trying to run a decent RPAT time. I am by no means old, but I am not as young as I once was and my back starts to feel it after awhile.

Dave0317

Lil-Rokslider
I like that you know what a Pig Egg is. Most guys here probably won’t.

I have plenty of experience rucking, but I’m not sure I have much helpful advice for you. I really think if a pack fits at all, getting comfortable is a matter of putting in some miles with it and making small tweaks to the setup. I think most guys would say that your Mystery Ranch frame is light years ahead of the Alice/Tactical Tailor setup.
I have plenty of time under an Alice, and I think I prefer a Molle 2. Neither is great, but I do ruck with my Molle 2 a lot. Using an Alice or other surplus ruck for training would probably help save a little wear and tear on your hunting pack.

Can you spend some money, or are you trying to make one of your current packs work?

-RLTW

A pack will only help you do so much on an RPAT, effort is what will do the most for you.

With that being said, I’d chose an MR frame over an ALICE frame any day.

OP
Cdroot89

Cdroot89

Lil-Rokslider
I wouldn’t mind spending money. I know putting time and effort is the key. Like many people on here I am a gear junkie and like to get my stuff dialed in.