Choosing New Broadheads

I started shooting archery last year, I’ve just been shooting at targets but planning to do OTC archery tag this year. Only thing I’m having issues is understanding broadheads. How do you go on choosing your broadheads, grains, bevels, fixed or mechanical, how will this affect the shooting? Any help would be appreciated, thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No matter what you end up with shoot with your broadheads before you hunt, do not just believe they will hit with your field points without truthing it.
Grains- heavier generally will hit harder but have worse trajectory. Lighter will have better trajectory/shoot flatter and could penetrate less. For elk many people like to add some weight to their arrow to balance speed vs weight.

Bevel- the main advantage to single bevel is it is supposed to split the bone allowing the arrow to pass through easier if the arrow has enough force/weight behind it. Both will cut well if sharpened well. Good quality steel that stays sharp into the body cavity is probably more important than bevel.
Fixed vs mechanical- this may be the easiest way to start a fight on here! Fixed are usually thought of as more durable and mechanical are generally thought of as more accurate but with a well tuned bow and good broadheads each style can have similar qualities.
A good idea would be to buy 2 or more types and see what your bow likes and what you like. You can play with different weights by changing field points to get a idea of trajectory.
For reference I shoot gold tip hunter xt, 100 gn broadheads, 100 gn insert, playing with fletchings but my total arrow weight will be around 510. Tooth of the arrow or Magnus buzcut broadheads based on what shoots better. 60# bow

Bump79

WKR