Do I need to fire form after market brass? What do you do?

I'm new to reloading. I primarily load for my 6mm ARC. With my handloads I pretty consistently shoot .5-.75 MOA with 5 rounds at 100 yards. 6mm ARC brass has been impossible to find so I have only been using once fired Brass from Hornady factory ammo. The brass is already fire formed to my barrel for my first reload.

I just found Starline and Hornady reloading brass. I bought a couple hundred of both to see what I like best. My question - should I use cheap bullets and powder for the first load of the new after market brass to fire form the brass to my barrel, or can I load the new brass with my good stuff and still get good accuracy? What do you guys do with new brass?

Extra info: The gun I'm loading for is a gas gun (AR-15) so my tolerances aren't as tight as a bolt gun.

I have found that with brand new lapua brass in 300 win 243 .22-250 308 6.5 creed and 6.5 prc, that if I run the expander through the case mouth and load it with the usual load it performs extremely well from an accuracy standpoint. Definitely good enough for hunting anyways. I’m not sure how hornady and Starline brass is brand new however. I would definitely run a test on the brass though because if you can get decent accuracy out of that first firing why not take advantage. These days where powder primer and bullets come at a premium I wouldn’t necessarily waste components to just fireform brass especially if you are not shooting competitively. Watching guys fireform the larger ackley rounds and shoot sub moa groups is what turned me to doing this.

OP
M
Awesome. I was definitely going to test each brand, but that is definitely good to know. Thanks!

A382DWDZQ

WKR