Draw length?

jaypope

Lil-Rokslider
Hey guys I’m new to traditional archery so forgive my ignorance.

I have an older Hoyt Tiburon recurve with 45# short formula limbs, Pat Norris springy rest, 3under tab & a Black Eagle Vintage arrow test kit that comes with (1) 350, (1) 400, (1) 500 & (1) 600 spine arrows.

I’m actually waiting on the arrow test kit but it should be delivered any day. It’s two weeks late so I expect it by the new year. Fingers crossed.

My question is what’s the proper way to determine your correct draw length when shooting a recurve? I realize my draw length will be what it will be based on my anchor point. I’m just curious to know what it actually ends up at once I have practiced enough to feel comfortable with my anchor point, shot sequence, release, follow through, etc.

I’ve shot a compound for many years and my draw length is 28.25”. I’ve talked to some guys that say my draw length when shooting a recurve will be as much as an inch less although other guys say it should be close to the same. This probably has to do with the fact that each person is unique in how they anchor a bow so two guys with the same body measurements and the same bow might have a different different draw lengths. Is that correct?

When my arrow test kit is delivered I plan to keep the arrows full length until I’m very comfortable with my shot. When I draw back a full length arrow is my draw length the length of the arrow to the front side of the shelf? Or to the inside of the grip?

There are a few ways you can do it. I've come to full draw with a full-length arrow on my bow a few times and had my partner make a mark on the arrow where the front of the riser is. Another way is to put a clothes peg on the arrow and it will slide along the arrow as you draw and stop when you get to full draw.