Fire on Top of Drainfield

treillw

WKR
I've had a few people tell me that there is no issue burning on top of a drain field and I have burned some huge brush piles on it from new house construction.

Just had another guy who is a certified drain field installer tell me not to do it, when I was talking about putting a small fire ring on top of it. He is very likely correct and more knowledgeable than the other people.

Anyone have experience with this?

Are there some sort of fire pans or something that you could place in the bottom of the fire circle to provide an additional buffer?

I don't really have another great place to put the fire ring, except on top of the drain field.

Thanks!

nodakian

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
I'm no expert, but if a fire can burn on top of ice all day while only melting 2-3" at most, I don't see how it could hurt a drain field 2+ feet deep. I understand the different dynamics of soil vs water under a fire, but the heat mainly goes up, and dirt is a good insulator, so I wouldn't expect trouble. On the other hand, I'd be curious about the installers reasoning. Good luck.

hunterjmj

WKR
The only thing I know not to do is drive on it. I've never built a fire on ours but I can't imagine it would get so hot it would go down 12" or whatever and cause damage.

gbflyer

WKR
I would not hesitate to put a campfire ring on a drainfield that I install. Our regulations require 3 feet of cover minimum.

Also, the infiltrators we use are H10 rated which is 16,000lb per axle. We have one under a parking lot, the only place it fits on this particular lot. It’s been working for many years.

Drainfields are only so wide. I would build it off to the side, mound it up with rock or dirt and confine it in a truck rim or commercial fire container. It will make it easy to keep cleam and control the size of your fire.

OP
treillw

treillw

WKR
Instead of a ring how about an all in one “pit” like they sell at Lowes? keeps it off the ground that way