First and Last Rifle - New Hunter

98TJ10

FNG
New to hunting as well as Rokslide and hoping you guys can help me. I am a new hunter but have a good bit of experience skeet/trap shooting as well as competitive .22 shooting. I'm just getting into hunting and would like to make one rifle/scope purchase that will last a good 20+ years as I grow into the sport and different game.

Right now I'm looking at either a Tikka T3x Lite or Weatherby Vanguard in .270, .308, 6.5 CR, or .30-06. I'll primarily be hunting northeast whitetail on my friends farm but hope to get out west for elk down the road. My concern - I am 5' 11'' 150 lbs. I don't consider myself recoil sensitive (100+ 12GA shells are no problem) but would like to be as accurate as possible and maybe do some bench shooting with the gun as well. Would the T3x Lite in .30-06 be too much? .308? Any thoughts on the Vanguard synthetic stock with the rubberized material - will it break down over time?

I know 6.5 CR is controversial. Is it enough for elk?

Any rifle help would be appreciated along with scope recs! Thank you.

I weigh 200 lbs with biggish arms and shoulders. I’ve shot 30-06 for 30 years. I have a T3x in 30-06 and the recoil is tolerable but significant. I shoot better when shooting the same gun in 7mm-08 or .243 cuz I anticipate recoil with the bigger guns. The 7-08 has the reputation of bucking cross wind better than the other two listed and the 6.5 cm even more so. Love my 7mm-08 so far.

There’s a bunch of threads on here about 6.5 cm and even .223 for big game. .223 is not legal for big game in my state and possibly other states. I certainly recommend the T3 and Tikka in general.

WPFY543

FNG