Gear List Suggestions.

So I’m pretty new to hunting and never have been backpack hunting before. I have compiled a gear list for a mule deer hunt in SW or Central Idaho.

Please feel free to critique, and break down my list and offer suggestions to make it better or lighter. I am trying to keep it on a semi limited budget and if you have good recommendations on boots please let me know as well.

https://lighterpack.com/r/0axyj5

fngTony

Super Moderator
Staff member
That’s a pretty dialed in list, are you experienced with backpacking?

-A couple things to lighten your weight but Uber expensive would be a dcf shelter and a lighter pack (this will cost you well over a grand to drop about two pounds).
- Cheap weight savings would be replacing your bino harness with a Rick young outdoors harness (save 10oz). Drop the m65 field pants or replace with kuiu peloton 97 zip offs (5oz). I’m not familiar with where you’re going so maybe I’m way off here. Personally those zip offs and rain paints cover most scenarios for me here in Colorado.
- Tent stakes (didn’t see them listed, included with the tent?), if you’re going from the cheapest & heaviest to an ultralight type it can save almost a half pound.
-You can get a lighter sleeping pad and have an Rvalue of 4, gonna cost $100-$200 though.

Probably want a rangefinder with you.
180 feet of cord is a bunch, you're probably OK with 50 or so.

KneeDeep

FNG
I didn't see a GPS/Map in the list. Also, my wife's become addicted to my InReach communications, worth its weight for sure for us.

taskswap

WKR
If you're trying to really cut those ounces, here are a few options
- Zing-It or bank line instead of paracord (almost as strong, much lighter)