GMC torque converter

cardiac5

Lil-Rokslider
Looking for some advice. My truck started occasional split second vibrating (like a faint rumble strip) and has a slight sporadic knock when pulling hills . It started late Friday night on a 20hr road trip ( I’m a traveling ER nurse so I do a lot of hwy miles). It does great on acceleration and shifting. I was told from a shop over the phone it’s a torque converter. Everyone seems to be booked out several days and I work 12hr shifts so it’d be a week before it gets in. It’s a 14 Sierra 5.3 v8 4x4 with 146k miles. I was quoted $3500 for the torque converter and pump replacement. It’s $5400 for a new transmission at the dealer with warranty. Another shop said $2500 or $3650 for a rebuild. I had looked at diesels and talked myself out of it and was offered 18 trade in months ago. What happens if I keep driving it? Will the transmission just blow or what? Also do I have it rebuilt or will the torque converter be enough? I love my truck and I don’t want to get rid of it especially with prices now. When the first guy said $3500 “here come goodbye” by rascal flatts popped in my head lol. I don’t know much about this so any advice is appreciated.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

My advice would be to find a couple local shops and price a rebuild through them. I believe what you are experiencing is torque shudder. They make some stuff you can put into the fluid that might help it. Most auto parts places carry it. It is called shudder fix or something. I believe there is just a glaze built up and I don’t think it will just quit working, but you never know.

I would reccomend you replace the transmission fluid and filter if it has one before doing a rebuild. When you do the fluid change add the additive pictured below. I would be very surprised if the issue didn’t go away after doing the service, and then driving approximately 300 miles with the fresh fluid + additive.
3CE8F831-F409-433C-B3E4-AEDC027E8867.png

OP
cardiac5