High country spotter size?

Looking to get some input from the high country guys on spotter size. I sold my ATS 80mm recently and need to replace it. Considering a couple different scope but don’t want to go to big and it be overkill.
I have been building points for a couple years in a couple states for mule deer so I can get a couple consecutive years of early season high country archery hunts planned. Most of my current glassing has been within 2-3 miles from the truck so spotter size/weight hasn’t been too big of a deal.

Dioni A

Basque Assassin
The biggest scope your willing to carry. I am carrying a stx 95 now after replacing my STM 80 with it.

OP
Mdfowlman2
The biggest scope your willing to carry. I am carrying a stx 95 now after replacing my STM 80 with it.
That’s what I was thinking, I think I’m going to pull the trigger on a Kowa 883, stupid good price right now and I’ve read nothing but great things about it besides the size which is to be expected with a 88mm scope

ianpadron

WKR
If you're still planning on sticking that close to the truck, go with the biggest KOWA or Swaro you can afford, who gives a shit about weight!

If you have any plans on hiking deeper, the 553/554s are the bomb. Every single hunting buddy that uses mine ends up wanting one or buying one. So light!

Pacific_Fork

Well Known Rokslider
I have the kowa 554 and been using smaller scope for years. It works for getting a good idea on a general size of a buck out to about a mile. I really want to get an 88 or 95 just haven’t got the guts to spend the cash and carry that weight yet.

65s have been successfully used for a long time.

Love my Kowa 554. Love my STX 65 and 95. All have their roles that they excel at and can suck when used in roles their not meant for.