Is there one brand that is truly the best for carrying weight?

grfox92

WKR
Ive been using a Seek Unaweep 4800 for 6 years now. I was always happy with the pack and loved how it carried my gear. Fast forward to the last 2 years since I've been a resident out west and pack out a lot of animals every year.

I've grown to hate the pack. When it's adjusted right it is great and a joy to carry a heavy load, but it constantly needs to be adjusted. I'll use yesterday for an example. We killed a cow. We decided we would pack the whole cow out in one trip.

My pack was adjusted perfectly. With a shoulder, quarter, strap and tendy, I started back to the road and I honestly felt great. Heavy but it was carrying great. Then we stopped for a break, I dropped my pack, we rested, put my pack back on and it was a nightmare. Hip belt sliding down around my waist constantly, so I had to just suck it up and cinch down my shoulder straps and put all the weight there.

I've come to the conclusion that if I don't loosen my load lifters when I drop the pack it changes the suspension and it is no longer adjusted properly. It's not easy to remember to loosen them when you are doing a brutal packout. Is this normal on other packs? Is it that with a load that heavy no pack is going to stay where you want it

After 6 years, regardless I want to try something new. I know that pack fit can be personal and to someone's body. But what would you guys say is the best pack for carrying weight? When I first joined this forum the answer would have been Kifaru hands down, but with some recent developments from Exo and other companies I'm not sure that still rings true.

I'm thinking a Kifaru 44 Mag or an Exo K4. Curious on opinions from people who have tried and packed a lot weight on multiple brands and packs.

Thanks for any input.

Gary

Sent from my SM-G990U2 using Tapatalk

Last edited:

sndmn11

WKR