Leica Rangemaster CRF 3500.com Review ***Updated 1/8/21***

OP
Tony Trietch

Tony Trietch

Part Time Bow Hiker
Staff member
@Tony Trietch Do you know if Leica continues to use the loaded ballistic profile when in EHR mode? Just wondering if it defaults back to straight EHR or if its influenced by a ballistic profile of a firearm when actually using it with a bow. Not even sure if it would matter at bow ranges, but I'm curious.

FWIW, if it does, and you can get access to two chronographs, you could set one at the bow and one at 50yds and use the app to create a second custom curve for your bow (the app has a calculate coefficient feature).
No, as far as I know the EHR is just simple math. No custom ballistic input in EHR mode. I have been asking for archery ballistic input in a RF for many years.

This past year Leupold was the first to attempt it using Archer's Advantage software. I am really hoping other optic manufacturers jump in.

Hopps

FNG
Great review! I have the 2800.com and now I'm second guessing my purchase. I can comment on the kestrel link - once it is paired it links up within a few seconds of being turned on. I did notice that batteries seem to go a little quicker when using the connectivity but once you have verified your ballistic curve on the kestrel it works really well, I've used it in several competitions now - quick range and I find myself grabbing the info off my kestrel screen - it gets displayed in the rangefinder but it scrolls across kinda slow and I'm usually writing the dope on my armboard between each range so I have to look away from the rangefinder anyways.

I had one moment where it stopped ranging and just gave me the spinning circle so I pulled the battery and put it back in and I was able to finish the day out on probably another 20 targets.

Fog definitely plagues the 2800 it doesn't seem to punch through cloud / fog after about 5-600 yards.

V-TRAIN

WKR