Load development technique

SDHunter44

Lil-Rokslider
I’m just getting into reloading, I have a 280 ai that I’d like to do some load development for, my question is where is the best place to start, do you start by trying different bullets, and then once you find which one the gun shoots well start testing different powder weights? This is 90% long range hunting rifle no competition shooting or anything like that, if that’s the case do you just pick the bullet that best fits the game your targeting and as long as they don’t shoot like crap go straight to load testing?

Another 280 ai specific question, I did pick up some 280 Remington ammo since 280 ai is hard to find at the moment. Is fire formed brass less ideal or is it a non factor?

I am in the process of development for my new 300 PRC. Here’s what I did. Ended up burning a lot of rounds though.

First I tried some 200gr ELD-X hoping to get them to work. Started with some ladder tests to find a speed node then from there played with seating depth to time the group. No luck. Went thorough 100 rounds. A buddy had some Berger 205 that I tried. With those I basically combined a ladder test and the OCW method and found a powder charge and now am into seating depth testing and am having great results so far. Almost have a load worked up in less then half the rounds as the ELD-X. Basically feel like I wasted a hundred rounds of components trying the ELD-X bullets.

I will use the method I used with the bergers again.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PanhandlePilgrim

Lil-Rokslider
To find seating depth I like to run 2 shots ea per each length and shoot them both in a group that generally tells me everything I need to know about seating depth and doesn't use as many components. I used to start at jam and work my way back .010 at a time but recently watched a Cortina video suggesting .006 at a time. I tried it and I it works well. So it starts at jam, .006 off, .012, .018, .024, .030, and so on.