Max range with fixed pins.

Mtrain

FNG
I’m interested in people’s thoughts and solutions. I’m fairly new to the bow and am running a five pin spot Hogg. I’ve been practicing at 60 and wondering about options for shooting further so my questions are.
1 what sort of range do most people start to max out at for practice(I know this is a can of worms)?

2 What distance does gaping the pins become impractical for hunting. Not saying I would try that distance.

3 what do others do who only want to shoot moderate distance hunting but would like to practice longer to improve.

Ive been looking at the Iq define pro which has a range finder built onto a seven pin sight and wondered how useful fixed pins would be trying to shoot say 74 yards.
Thanks all.

So with a spot Hogg hunter 7 pin, large housing, 20 pin maxed out at the top, and shooting a whopping 343 fps I’m able to reach out to 75. If I were to move my sight as far back as the bracket allowed I could get 80.

As far as bracketing at those longer ranges goes, it’s totally possible to be hunting accurate. Just practice and be able to “see” the trajectory of your arrows through your pins.

If you want to practice even longer you can move your housing down and say have your first pin at 40 and go from there. Just make sure you’re getting good clearance.

All that said if I wasn’t a cheap b*stard I’d buy a spot Hogg 7 pin slider and make life a little easier.

Sportsman

Lil-Rokslider
I use my bubble for 70 on a 5 pin fixed sight. I am about 6" high and it's spot on. Not a particularly fast bow and only 57 lb draw weight.

EDIT: I won't do that hunting but do weekly on the range.

1) When I started getting serious into archery in 2017 I would shoot a lot at 60 after I felt comfortable at closer ranges. IMO if you are pin gapping it is not the same as settling your pin on the target.