Montana muzzleloader season

I was a muzzleloader hunter up until I moved to Montana from Washington some eight years ago. Sadly they do not offer any kinda muzzleloader season here. I was surprised just because this is such a big hunting state and every other state has some kinda muzzleloader season. What are your thoughts on if Montana was to implement a muzzleloader season for deer, elk, and antelope? Why would you be for or against it? Thanks all and let’s keep this civil.

I am a Montana resident and also own a Muzzleloader and I’m not in favor of a ML season. The state has a select few restricted weapon areas where one could use a Muzzleloader as a means of taking game but i think the way our season is structured it’s not favorable for another weapon choice. Especially when you factor in the debate of primitive ML compared to modern ML’s, where would the line get drawn then?

If anything I’d like to see an archery only tag open up in some of the limited entry deer units. Maybe even give hunters the chance to hunt deer in velvet in early August and even out some of the steeper draw odds

I plan on packing my Knight Ultra Lite this season and will be off all next week to go hunting

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mt Al

WKR
Nothing against MLs but opposed for a few reasons:
-"need" to buy another gun, gear, practice, etc..
-already part of weapons restricted areas
-you can use one during rifle season if'n you want to
-honest question: what would be gained? Is the thought that limited range, etc, give critters a fighting chance, like archery?

My opinion only: I'd rather see another week of archery, one less week of rifle. Totally selfish reasons.

Cowbell

WKR
The problem with ML seasons are:
1)Much higher occurrence of injured game due to hunters not knowing their equipment and limits.
2)An overwhelming amount of hunters that just use a modern high powered rifle.

OP
western406
Nothing against MLs but opposed for a few reasons: