New elk hunter with plans changed

clint6760

FNG
This is my first year elk hunting and had planned for all year to go with a group of guys for Colorado OTC archery hunt. I’m a teacher and ended up having to quarantine and miss a lot of school. It looks like I’m going to have to miss out on going with the group I had planned.

I had all the gear and was ready for archery. I spent an untold amount of money, time, and effort into preparing for this and don’t want to give up. I am planning on going solo for second rifle OTC.

I’m wondering if there is anything that I need gear wise or info that would be different.Of course colder weather, more hunters, and no bugles. Thanks for the help

Clarence

WKR
Warmer sleep system, ability to procure water in cold temperatures, warmer puffy jacket, and a tent that can potentially handle some snow comes to mind. And tire chains for your vehicle.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

OP
C

clint6760

FNG
Warmer sleep system, ability to procure water in cold temperatures, warmer puffy jacket, and a tent that can potentially handle some snow comes to mind. And tire chains for your vehicle.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Thanks. I should have said that I’m gonna truck camp so I can stay mobile.Don’t have tire chains yet andi was planning on using sawyer squeeze

Porterka

FNG
Be careful with the sawyer if temps are freezing and make sure it is dry internally or it doesn’t get cold enough to freeze.

OP
C

clint6760

FNG
Yeah I have a back up befree filter I will take. I’ll also keep the sawyer in a jacket pocket

OP
C

clint6760

FNG
I do have an Inreach mini so I’m good there. My dad who is getting up there in age might tag along and stay at camp by the truck.

gelton

WKR
Thanks. I should have said that I’m gonna truck camp so I can stay mobile.Don’t have tire chains yet andi was planning on using sawyer squeeze