New land owner in New Mexico residency question

Hey y’all!
I’m looking to buy property in New Mexico and eventually move there after I build. I’m a permanent resident in Texas and would not be living in NM before wanting to get tags for many species. If I were to own just land (non-permanent resident) would I get resident tag prices for all licenses or would the address on my drivers license need to be a NM drivers license regardless if I own land or not?
Thanks!

dtrkyman

WKR
You may get landowner vouchers regardless of residency, how many depends on how many animals use the property.

For tags anywhere other than your property you will pay non res. fees.

Yep. You would still be paying non resident prices if you don’t claim NM residency. I wouldn’t recommend that. Buy the land, get your vouchers and just pay the NR tag fees.

yfarm

WKR
This is the program, the presumption is that you are buying land to hunt on as is mentioned above. Amount of acreage owned and the elk population in the unit determines the number of lo permits issued to an individual owner.

yfarm

WKR
I’d gladly pay the 5% income tax to get the access to public lands compared to here in Texas which is absolutely zero. I just got back from Alamogordo chasing Barbary. Didn’t see one but still had a blast there. So having tons of opportunity to chase game and having a state income tax doesn’t bother me much.
My son and I draw limited access tags on Tx public areas just as frequently as we draw tags in NM for public area hunts. My hunting lease cost in Texas is more than paid for by paying no state income tax. I lived a large part of my life in a state where landowners allowed you to hunt for free, that is changing to a lease model. I paid far more income tax in that state than hunting leases would ever cost. That state has seen the light and is phasing out income tax, given the politics, doubt NM will ever do that.