NM 16B/22 DIY or Guided

Well my lottery ticket hit this week and I landed a 16B/22 2nd archery tag. I have now started the frantic investigation and research on google earth, onx & of course forums. I really want to go DIY, but it would be my first solo elk hunt and this unit may be a tough one to cut my teeth on. I hunted near Chama last year with Rios Brazos on a guide tag and was lucky enough to take a 5x5 bull with my bow. Been immersed in elk articles, shows, elk 101, elknut app, elk podcasts & practicing my calling since I left NM last September. I guess you could say I'm officially addicted!

My brother & I have been gearing up with all of the DIY essentials for the past 6 months in preparation for a WY general tag backpack hunt, but now I was lucky enough to pull possibly a once in a lifetime tag in the infamous Gila, so withdrew my WY application today. DIY would be extremely rewarding if I could get it done, but on the flip side I don't want to waste an opportunity at such a great unit and huge trophy potential. Torn between DIY with packer out, drop camp (in & out) & fully guided. Fully guided may be tough to swing financially with this year's events. Hard to predict the complete impact of what is yet to come. Interested in hearing from anyone that has gone DIY and how the experience went. Also looking for packer/ drop camp contacts. Any info anyone is willing to share to help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance for helping another addicted rookie elk hunter!

Jardo

WKR
I have decided if I draw a Gila or 55a tag, I’m hiring the best damn guide I can find.

My reasoning is I have spent thousands on mediocre elk hunts and if I get a chance to hunt these premium units, damnit I’m gonna have the best hunt of my life.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Firewater

FNG
I might be able to help I have hunted this unit for many years. You have options depending on your budget whether its a drop camp or guided. Send me a PM. @WIBowhunter23