NRA Alaska dall sheep hunt/guides

ksteed17

FNG
I'm thinking of starting to apply in AK for dall sheep. First off I'm wondering is it even worth it? Looking at the draw stats it looks like I have anywhere from 1-6% chance of being drawn. So not super good odds. Second it's just straight lottery no point system right? Then third what area would you guys suggest and who to guide? Thanks

luke moffat

Super Moderator
The draw areas a good, but you can go OTC just as easily. Gonna cost ya the same amount of money ($10K+). If you want to apply I'd say go for it, but lots of good options not for draw.

OP
K

ksteed17

FNG
So for cost of guide, flights, etc you think I'd still be over 10K? And being a canadian resident i was under the impression that i cant go the OTC route? Do you have any recommendations for a guide? Thanks luke

luke moffat

Super Moderator
You can hunt the OTC areas, but still are required to hire a guide whether you draw a tag or not I guess is what I'm saying. So might as well try to apply for a tag with the idea that you'll hunt with a guide that year if you draw or not to use the ak hunting license you are required to buy to even apply for a draw tag.

Yes the draws are random and do not have a points based system. Lots of good guides out there, but I haven't hunted with any of them as I am not required to have one. Several members here and many on other sites have great suggestions for guides though. Sorry I'm not more help.

And yes most of the guided sheep hunts are around the $10K mark with a few exceptions of some being in the $7500 range but those are usually last minute cancellation hunt opportunities if you are able to jump on them. Many are more like $12K mark as well.

MattB

WKR
So for cost of guide, flights, etc you think I'd still be over 10K? And being a canadian resident i was under the impression that i cant go the OTC route? Do you have any recommendations for a guide? Thanks luke