Options with my Tikka 30-06

bcolvin

FNG
Hi All,
I am fairly new to hunting and firearms for that matter. I have been hunting for the past 5 or 6 seasons with reasonable success here in Colorado. I have taken some elk, pronghorn, and mule deer with a Tikka forest rifle in 30-06. I typically shoot nosler partitions in 180 grain and have been happy with the performance. I try and keep my shots under 300 yards as I feel the most confident at those yardages.

Recently, I have been wanting to make the switch to copper or mono bullets with hopes of getting away from lead. So far I have not had much success in getting my rifle to shoot well with copper. After reading up, mostly here, my rifle with a 1:11, I believe, will have a hard time stabilizing these longer rounds.

At this point what are my options? My hopes are to keep my Western hunting to a single caliber if possible. I would be up for a different caliber. If so what would be a comparable caliber that would handle copper well? I am newish to shooting and would love to not go crazy on recoil. I spend a fair amount of time at the range but I am sure I could always use more in order to become more tolerant of recoil. Also, could I rebarrell the 30-06 with a faster twist as I don't mind the 30-06 other than the copper issue for my purposes.

Thanks a bunch for any of your insight as I appreciate all of the advice on this forum.

OP
B

bcolvin

FNG
My family primarily eats wild game since I have been hunting. Since I butcher my own animals and I am particular on as many details as I can be I would like to get away from lead. I did not like seeing the images of the kaibab deer gut piles. I am sure others have different concerns about it but I am hoping to see what my options are of avoiding.

OP
B

bcolvin

FNG
What bullets have you tried? I had good luck with the 168 TTSX and would be willing to send you a few for testing.