Pine Gluch Fire in CO and my upcoming hunt

JGBowman

Lil-Rokslider
I have a Colorado archery mule deer tag for unit 31 and hunting partner has a mule deer tag for 21. So we were planning to hunt the border of the two units.

When I look at the map the pine gluch fire is in the middle of the unit. I will be at the very north of the unit and plan to arrive around September 5th. I live in Pennsylvania so I have very little experience with wildfires. So should we consider hunting a different area further from the fire? or do we just need to wait and see what happens?

Also, thoughts and prays to all the residents being affected by these wildfires.

Thanks in advance.

brsnow

WKR
Check where the boundaries are set for the fire. It is fluid and not controlled currently, but it will let you know how close you can get and also check road closures.

wytx

WKR
This week is going to be very difficult for that fire. I would check with CPW and USFS updates on it before making plans. Things could drastically change this week for all the fires.

11boo

WKR
No one knows for sure, but a Fruita fireman I know has been working support on that fire. He thinks they won’t get it out without help in the form of rain.

As Phaseolus said "We are?" he lives here I live here? Haven't heard anything like that here in GJ (thats Grand Junction for all those not on the ground) on the news or at the incident command center, which is at our fair grounds about 6 miles from me. Must have missed it? We dropped off some bottle water cases this morning. 87k acres

Its hot 90's & 100 this week, 10% thunder storms on Thursday, which could only mean dry lightening strikes.

Here is the few last week from my home looking north toward the fire

ycdkVE0h.jpg

nDFI7Wrh.jpg

Today the same view point

OD9omfuh.jpg

This one you should see the Grand Mesa behind the power lines,

5XravA2h.jpg

If anything the air quality pretty much sucks and white ask every where.

Keep us updated when you get more from US ;)