WTS/WTT Public service announcement

Scottf270

WKR
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Just a reminder that when paying for something using Paypal that there could be tax implications. I don't buy often, but when I tried to send payment for a scope recently, it asked for a tax id number to avoid a 25% withholding.

Now I was sending money not receiving but I was concerned the seller would be hit with this. We decided on a snail mail check.

I know this has been delayed for a few years and I'm not an expert on the subject but just sharing a concern.

N8iV Warrior

Lil-Rokslider
Rating - 100%
4   0   0
But beware there is no guarantee that the person will send or protect you from being ripped off from the transaction. Ask me I know I have all the guys info and I Still got ripped off from this guy that’s a Rokslider on here. Sorry for the rant. Be safe

antelopedundee

Lil-Rokslider
Rating - 100%
9   0   0
But beware there is no guarantee that the person will send or protect you from being ripped off from the transaction. Ask me I know I have all the guys info and I Still got ripped off from this guy that’s a Rokslider on here. Sorry for the rant. Be safe
You can use PPFF with a credit card, but YOU pay the fee and not the seller. If you don't mind the extra 3% for the peace of mind of being able to do a chargeback, that would be a way. Also you won't get a 1099, but the seller may.

I've never done that, but you might ask your CC company what happens when a chargeback isn't collectible. Do you end up getting stiffed or do they?

Dthomas3523

FNG
Classified Approved
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Keep in mind, this is all just reporting thresholds required. Not a chance in actual tax implications.By law, you're supposed to self report if you make any profit, even on a personal sale.

If you buy a baseball card for $5 and sell it for $20 to someone with PP F&F, you are still legally supposed to report that $15 profit whether PP reports the transaction or not.