Rookie needing advice

Hey guys I’m wanting to dive headfirst into rifle hunting. I’ve been doing just archery for the last 7 years. I suck and my empty freezer is telling me to try something different. I haven’t touched a rifle in about 12 years. I have zero experience with the dial up scopes. I saw a nice Bergara HMR 300 win mag with a vortex viper hs lr 6-24x50 scope in the classifieds for $1300. Is this a pretty good deal? Good setup? I live in Utah and plan to hunt elk, mule deer, black bear, pronghorn, and maybe a moose in like 50 years. I should also mention I have a pretty tight budget right now. Not looking to spend more than $1500. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:
When it comes to dialing, I am not a fan of Vortex scopes as they are well known for the owner needing to utilize the warranty. If you want a reliable dialing scope, read through some of the testing of scopes that include a few drop and side impact tests along with ladder tests, return to zero... and chose one of the few that passes with flying colors.

I have never owned a Bergara, so I do not consider myself to be qualified to comment on them specifically. However, plenty of people speak well of Bergara.

Since you posted in the LR forum along with the species mentioned, I will add that my opinion is that a 300 is the smallest caliber I would go with. But, plenty of people will contradict my opinion with good reasoning.

First piece of advice
Lose the Ducks😎

I'm guessing you don't hand load, what ranges are you hoping to hunt at?
If youre buying factory ammo and are looking to kill deer and elk beyond 500 yards I'd say get a 300 prc and shoot 212 or 225 eldms.

I really feel that the scope is the most important part of a long range setup, and wouldn't recommend going cheap.
Bushnell makes an LRTS that can be had for around $1000, or the DMRII

OP
cody21peterson