Savage Axis trigger

I picked up an Axis in 223 for plinking. The trigger is pretty terrible. Not so much creep, but heavy. Have guys been happy changing the spring, or should I look at an aftermarket solution?

Hudge

FNG
I just started playing with changing the spring in guns recently. I did notice a lighter trigger pull, but I can't say better trigger from the trigger spring other than on a Rem. 742 that was my dad's. I will be changing out trigger springs on my shotguns now, but for rifles, I am sticking to changing out the triggers. I've had good luck with Rifle Basix and Timeny triggers.

stank.243

Lil-Rokslider
I ended up just cutting about 1.5 "loops" off of the spring that is on the trigger and it made a major difference. Cheap, simple and effective for what I needed. There are some videos on youtube of the process

I got a timney for my savage axis. Very easy install and a HUGE difference.

Agree the stock trigger is garbage, but the timney made it a sweet shooting rifle

OP
R
Thanks guys, I might try cutting the spring just to see if it makes a difference. If not then a new trigger it is.

Cdroot89

Lil-Rokslider
I 2nd just cutting the spring. I cut about the same amount off as stank.243 and thought that it made it better too. I have a 243 heavy barrel and it shoots touching holes at 100 yards but I can’t get over how cheap the stock feels.

Cng

Lil-Rokslider
For those of you that bought Timney’s, didn’t you spend almost as much on the trigger as you did on the Axis rifle? I’ve always wanted to try a nice aftermarket trigger but had a hard time justifying the cost in relation to my budget firearms.

Not to derail the thread, but I guess my question is whether a $350 rifle with a $250 aftermarket trigger will perform better than if I had just bought a $600 rifle?

my timney was around 100 bucks. So not bad, but you are correct about a third of the price of the gun.