Seek Outside Tent + Stove = Cold?

Ram94

WKR
I have not personally used candle lanterns in a tent, but I would think it would make condensation issues worse being that water vapour is a byproduct of combustion and it wouldn’t be exhausted out the chimney like a stove.

I’m by no means an expert but ran a very similar setup to you his year. First time being floorless myself. I was truck camping so a little extra gear.

Cimarron with a half nest and Large u turn stove for shelter. Sleep setup was tyvek, Matty mcmat face in the nest with a GoKot and Neotherm XLite on top of that. Running an Enlightened equipment 0 degree quilt.

Was up in the San Juan’s, around the same altitude, temps in high 60s during the day mid 20s at night.

First night woke up like you, cold and stove had gone out with lots of condensation in the tent. Did almost the exact same timing for starting the stove.

Second night my hunting partner gave me his small Mr Buddy heater to “preheat” the tent and I started a ripping hot fire. Right before I cashed it in for the night shut off the Mr Buddy and put a THICCC log in the fire box - zero condensation and was not cold the next morning. Slept through the night

Third day I made sure to leave the tent open to air out all day. I ditched the Mr Buddy. Put in my half liner on the other half of the tent, moved my tyvek onto the floor of the shelter that didn’t have the nest and started the stove around 7 and kept it rolling to get a good bed of coals before bed and really dry things out inside. Did the fat log again right as I turned in and tossed on my balaclava. Zero condensation and zero chill. Slept through the night.

I think really drying out the ground, getting the tyvek on the other half of the shelter, and getting that good coal bed going before tossing on the big log was Key to staying warm and keeping condensation down.