Seeking tips to become a better hunter

lukew

FNG
Hey all - Looking for recommendations on how I can up my game as a hunter. Currently I have a 12ga and a 22. I've been hunting small game with VERY limited success for about 3 years (Northern California, near Sacramento). My goal has been to become more accustomed to the practice of hunting before graduating to larger game.

My usual approach is to wake up early and head into the mountains (or any public land), arriving at dawn and usually heading out (skunked) by 12pm. In my travels I haven't seen many animals, including big game, so I'm wondering whether it's worth investing in a larger-caliber rifle just yet.

I'm quiet. I move slowly. I take time to look for sign and listen. But it's like I'm wearing animal repellant!

Am I just not spending enough time in the woods? Any other advice?

Side note: I always hunt solo (I'm an adult onset hunter and none of my friends are into it.) I probably need a mentor, or at least another novice buddy to bumble our way through it together.

downthepipe

Lil-Rokslider
What is your target species of game? Are we talking upland birds, waterfowl, squirrels, coyotes...???

First I would say don’t hesitate to get into hunting larger game. Second, perhaps the areas you are hunting don’t hold the type of game your are pursuing...

OP
L

lukew

FNG
I've been hunting squirrels and rabbits, but have only seen squirrels. I would love to hunt quail, but again, can't find them. I feel like waterfowl would be fun but it seems to be a bit of a group activity (4 guys in a blind) and I haven't found a group to roll with just yet.

You may be right... I don't vary my hunting location very often... I have a few spots in some mountains that I keep going back to... maybe I should try a completely new area.