Shoot Between the Pins

J_hol

Lil-Rokslider
Ok everybody let's hear your tips, tricks and systems for shooting off-yardages. For me shooting between 30 and 40 yards is no problem but 77 yards can be a nightmare.

I shoot a 7 pin Spott Hogg on a Mathews NoCam HTR with 414gr. Black Eagle x-impacts @ 274FPS.

Cheers!

Jason

BuckSnort

WKR
I have always split them to find new aiming points, after I run out of pins I stack them to find aiming points... Im not the best at stacking though, I only have 5 pins and 70+ yards are tough for me...

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
For 77 yards I split my 70 and 80 pins in the middle and aim 2-3" high. Worst case I hit high in the 10 ring or it drops in and is still in the 10 ring.

Read1t48

WKR
I'm new to bow hunting so take my advice with that in mind but I go to my nearest pin... 54yds gets my 50 pin and 56yds gets my 60 pin and then I aim high or low. With adequate practice I find this works for me.
Anyone else do it this way?

5MilesBack

"DADDY"
I'm new to bow hunting so take my advice with that in mind but I go to my nearest pin... 54yds gets my 50 pin and 56yds gets my 60 pin and then I aim high or low. With adequate practice I find this works for me.
Anyone else do it this way?

That will work fine on big game. However, one time in the heat of the moment I was in one of those "between" pins distances and picked the further pin with the intention of "aiming low". Well, by the time I got to full draw my head was under the impression that I was "aiming high" with that same pin, and shot right over the back.

N2TRKYS

WKR
I always aim with the gap between my pins for my in between shots. I haven't found it to be that difficult.

rodney482

WKR
This is where sights with 5 fixed pins and a floater pin shine.

I hate splitting pins and on an animal I could never do it. I would just aim high with lower yardage pin

Beendare

WKR