This might be a stupid question, from an absolute newbie.

The (dumb) question : Assuming you were solo hunting deer and your spotting scope spontaneously combusted, could a person hunt with only a pair of strong, high quality binoculars like Swarovski, using the gridding method on a tripod? Of course there'd be a huge disadvantage... but can it be done? Asking for rifle hunting in a hilly area.

OP
Y
I would take 15x binos over a spotter any day. When I carry a spotter, I use it for maybe 10 minutes per day. I spend hours in the 15s.

Thanks for your reply.

If you really had to, could you use a 10x25 Swarovski? I'm trying really hard to get out of the $2,000+ range for optics (for a first time hunter) but stay within the buy once cry once swarovision category.

Youngbuck86

Lil-Rokslider
You could use 10x42s. If you are trying to save money, look for used or older models. I prefer 8x or 10x on the neck and 15s in the pack, if not bigger. 12x seem to be a decent compromise if you just want one pair.

mxgsfmdpx

WKR
A good pair of binos on a tripod is the ideal glassing tool for me. The spotter only comes on certain hunts and is used mainly for verifying animals a long ways off... Or for animals where certain strict requirements for harvesting need to be met.

YES. Myself I am saving for a pair of 15X in full intention of ditching the spotting scope. I have an old Bausch and Lomb scope from my competitive target shooting days that is mounted on a homemade stock with a tripod mount also. Crystal clear and OLD (1970s) good glass.

Tripod with 15X binos is a good solution. I believe there is at least one review here on the articles on 15X binos - check that out under the HOME tab and do a search for 15X.

Laramie

WKR