Tikka MDT HNT26

I'm pretty new to building rifles and I'm looking to build one for next season. Learned a lot over the last month or so. I've spent a couple weeks going through the Tikka build thread and love a lot of the options, but really want an MDT HNT26 chassis. I think I'm going to pick up a Tikka in 7mm Rem Mag as my all around rifle, and eventually rebarrel to a 7 PRC.

My first focus is just building a list of things I'll need, aside from the gunsmith work. I'm going to pick up the rifle and HNT26 stock. I don't reload so I'll just be shooting factory ammo, even after I have it rebarreled. I will likely go with a Proof CF barrel.

Is there anything else I'll need right off the bat? Thanks!

What is it about the HNT26 chassis that moves you?

If you dont need a folder or full length ARCA I'd wait for the rokstock. Save about a grand and if they turn out like I hope they do they'll probably be a step up in shooting experience.

Nhenry

Lil-Rokslider
The stock @Ryan Avery @Formidilosus @Unknown Munitions and @Stockys are working on bringing to market.

They going to offer that thing for lefty tikkas as well?

*EDIT: I just got to the point in the podcast where they say that there will be.

Last edited:
OP
rockymtnsam
What is it about the HNT26 chassis that moves you?

If you dont need a folder or full length ARCA I'd wait for the rokstock. Save about a grand and if they turn out like I hope they do they'll probably be a step up in shooting experience.
I do like the folding stock. We hunt very deep backcountry in CO and I think it would be helpful, but not a deal breaker.
The stock @Ryan Avery @Formidilosus @Unknown Munitions and @Stockys are working on bringing to market.

This is gonna send me down another entire rabbit hole lol.

OP
rockymtnsam
Muzzle break or thread cap. Are you going to use the factory trigger?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk