Tikkas and Suppressors

NateK

Lil-Rokslider
I am new to the suppressor game and currently have a Harvester EVO that I run on my 6.5 creedmoor whitetail rifle which has a heavier contour barrel. I am also looking to setup a better rifle for mountain hunts and was hoping you guys who run Tikkas could provide some input.

I am looking at getting a Tikka in 300 WSM and having the barrel cut down a couple of inches and threaded for use with the suppressor. My goal would be for total rifle/optic/etc. weight between 8 and 9 pounds. I will likely try to find a factory load in the 175-190 grain range that it likes and buy enough ammo for years to come.

Have you guys run suppressors on the lighter weight tikka barrels and if so how did it impact accuracy if at all?

You already have a mountain rifle. But aside from that, my suppressor changed poi, but not dispersion on my tikka 6.5 cut to 18".

BjornF16

WKR
Some will run 1/2"-28 threads on their .30 caliber rifles either running suppressor with same and direct thread or use a thread adapter to go from 1/2"-28 to 5/8"-24.

Others will have a thread adapter permanently bonded to run 5/8"-24...Karl Kampfeld has done several for me this way.

No impact on accuracy other than maybe improving it some with reduced recoil.

ElPollo

WKR
I’ve had minor POI shifts with no negative effects on accuracy. Your accuracy will likely improve due to reduced recoil. The POI shift doesn’t bother me because I don’t shoot it without the can anymore.

I had silencer central I think cut my barrel and thread it down to 18 inches on my tikka 308. Shooting a 165 grain scirocco ii with an omega 300 supressor. It actually tightened my group up a bit.

Sent from my SM-S918U using Tapatalk

MHWASH

WKR
I had my 300WSM cut to 22" with a thread adapter. Used the same hand load with stock barrel and equal accuracy. I've since sold the 300, just because I no longer see the need for a 300 magnum.

Jimbee

WKR