Trouble Duck Calling (Please Help LOL)

RDUB

FNG
Classified Approved
I am new to calling and I got a Echo Calls Meat Hanger as a gift. I am really having trouble getting that hot air, it just keeps sounding like a kazoo to me. I have tried some videos on youtube that say to use the word hut as a reference but it just seems to not be working. It hasn't been super long that I've been going at it but its tough not see results. Do you guys have any tips or any youtube videos you liked that helped you learn. Thanks

JMasson

Lil-Rokslider
It has more to do with the position of your tongue and how you use your tongue to channel air onto the tone board and reed. It isn’t so much saying words into the call, in fact I really don’t like when people teach that. Bobby Hayes of Duck Lander Calls has some pretty good videos on YouTube and he explains it infinitely better than I ever could.

At the end of the day, the call maker doesn’t matter nearly as much as the man with the call in his hands. In the words of Nash Buckingham, “A duck call in the hands of the unskilled is conservation’s best friend”. Those words will hold true for as long as electronic calls are banned for duck hunting.

Edited to add:

The men I grew up hunting around would’ve thrown my call in the water if I tried to use it before they said I could…my father included. It takes years of consistent practice to become proficient. It will not come easy and you won’t sound like a duck until one day it just clicks. Work at it and find someone to hunt with that knows how to call that is willing to teach you.

Last edited:
I've never blown the echo meat hanger so I'm not familiar with it.
The best advice I can give is pickup a cheap Haydel DR-85. It's super easy to blow and get familiar with how you need to move air to make a good quack.
As far as the "hut" it can also be "vut, put" just kinda depends on you and your air.

The "hu-" needs to come from your diaphragm like pushing air out after a punch in the gut.