Weight Loss - What works for me.

I want to start by saying that I read an incredibly interesting study a few months back regarding the relationship of calorie expenditure and weight loss (I apologize if if this has been discussed here recently). Also I am not a scientist or doctor, so don't take my advice without consulting the same.
I was always a firm believer that the simple laws of physics (caloric intake and expenditure) dictated weight loss in a straight forward manner. The study obviously did not disprove the laws of thermodynamics, but muddied the water as it applies to human fat loss.
The study involved placing a breathing device on African tribesman, that hunt wild game on foot, to determine calorie expenditure. The researchers chose this tribe because the people of the tribe were trim/low body fat/"healthy." The study revealed, surprisingly, that the tribesman were not actually burning significantly more calories, when compared to others members of western civilization. A sister study demonstrated that there was much less correlation between exercise and weight loss. All kinds of theories were derived from the studies. The research team believes that human body will react to exercise in a manner than balances out the calories lost through exercise. In other words, your body will increase your rest and "slow" other bodily processes to avoid fat loss, which honestly makes sense from a evolutionary survival perspective.
Equally interesting was the fact that the majority of calories humans burn are always related to basic bodily functions and the typical exercise session doesn't burn enough calories comparatively to matter. (Which is somewhat obvious.) The researchers theorized that the body will adjust these bodily functions to make up for the calories lost in exercise and subconsciously force us to rest more. The studies did demonstrate that people who lost weight did much better at keeping such weight off if they exercised.