Working out.

Hblazier3

FNG
I'm sure this is an overly discussed topic here, but I am a noob.

What do you do to stay fit enough to hike the steep n' deep? I'm 28 years old and have worked out my whole life up until the last few years after i quit riding bucking horses. It's time to get back after it, as i start to notice a bit of jiggle i've never had and packing both my bull and buck out this season was a chore in itself. I'm looking for long term workouts, as its not just for hunting season, its for my overall health as i start gaining more miles.

Titan_Bow

WKR
I’m and old school dude who spent time in the Army. I really believe in the old Army adage “Train like you fight” , I just tailor it to “train like you hunt”. All my workouts are really focused on hunting and archery.
For me, I keep a 55lbs backpack in my truck. At work, I’ll do 45 minutes running up and down this steep outdoor stair complex. I’ll mix that up with doing those same stairs but without the backpack and alternate sets is pushups, squats, crunches etc after each up/down of the stairs. I do a lot of rowing machine also. That builds cardio and back and arm muscle. Long trail runs at altitude really help as well. I try and work out every day during the week.
The key is getting comfortable with the uncomfortable feeling of a heavy pack. If you’ve been doing it all year in your workouts, then that heavy load isn’t going to feel as bad. If, however, you are throwing a 70 to 100 lbs pack on your back and it’s the first time you’ve done it in a year, it’s going to suck a$$

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I dont have the advantage of western terrain, otherwise that would be what I would do. Hills with heavy pack weight. Bonus if you do it at 29 palms....its like walking on a beach with added elevation for fun.