Wy Region G Success Rates

jlmoeller

FNG
My friend and I are planning a 2018 Wyoming DIY region G rifle Mule Deer Hunt. We are both from Iowa and aggressively hunt whitetails with a bow and gun. We had a successful WY antelope hunt in 2013 and plan on going again in 2016. We have acquired back packing gear and did a weekend archery back pack deer hunt in Iowa this fall.

My goal is to get a 150+” mule deer. We may or may not be able to do a scouting trip in 2017 to prepare. I know this is a loaded question, but what do you guys think our chance of success is for one or both of us to fill a tag? With or without pre-scouting?

My friend is considering a 2017 guided elk hunt in the same area with a guide that will share info on mule deer. How much does that increase our odds?

Thanks for the help. I am just trying to get an honest assessment of our chance of success.
Jason Moeller

Brock A

Super Moderator
Staff member
I am no expert on Region G (never hunted it) but I have hunted Region H. If you have never backpack hunted Mule Deer in the high country it might be challenging. Strictly based on the lack of experience (not saying you cant do it, but there is a learning curve involved). I would venture to say that if someone was a seasoned mountain hunter, the success rate would be significantly higher for that unit.

HvyBeams

Lil-Rokslider
I think 150" deer is doable for sure. Probably more doable during archery season.

Eagle

WKR
it hasn't been decided, but lets say 8 days in the mountains.
Thanks,
Jason