Wyoming September Archery

Findog

FNG
Hi all,

First off, I want to introduce myself. I’m new to Rokslide (FNG) and have never hunted out west for mule deer before. I’m from Southern Ohio and have cut my teeth on whitetails.

I am a state trooper in Ohio and I am starting a program to take members of our division that are struggling with on the job stress / critical incident recovery / and other stress related issues on annual out west hunting trip.

This program isn’t going to be geared around taking a 200”+ deer (though that would be cool). Really just targeting getting out west and taking in the country along with the chance of pursuing some mule deer bucks.

This trip is going be a 5 day hunt, all Public Land. Would like to backpack in and camp in the back country.

Me and the other program organizer were originally looking at Nebraska because it’s OTC so we wouldn’t need to worry about drawing. However, after researching on here, a majority of the folks were saying, if you’re going to go out to western Nebraska, it would be better to just cross into Wyoming.

And I’m not asking anyone to divulge their secret spots (trust me I know how sacred those can be). My question is, what regions and units should we focus on drawing where our draw odds are relatively high and we have the best chance to see some action in Early September. We’d be drawing as a party obviously.

Any input or advice would be very helpful. Thank you all for your time!

Respectfully,

Chris

Respectfully that is just too much for one question your talking about a half a dozen states and it would take someone a week to type out all the opportunities you have available. Advice would be to get GoHunt as it will enable you to research draw odds/deadlines by state. Then use the search feature because there are dozens of posts very similar to yours then narrow some things down and try asking specific questions that members in that area could potentially help you with.

OP
Findog

Findog

FNG