DIY truck camper

Wolverine

Lil-Rokslider
After looking and not finding a camper that fit my needs, I decided to try to build my own. Function, weight and cost being the 3 biggest concerns. I wanted to be able to put the truck in park and be able to climb in the back and sleep with no or minimal setup. Level-ish ground being about the only thing to look for. Weight for my light duty truck because a new truck isn't in the cards anytime soon. Tried to keep the costs modest but using true camper materials added up quickly.

I originally started out with a smaller, simpler redneck design that I quickly scrapped In favor of something with a little more of a true camper finish. The design is still a little bit odd but checks all the necessary boxes to do what I needed.

20210820_140448.jpg20210927_104628.jpg

Since I am not a carpenter by trade, designing and framing proved to be a fun/frustrating challenge with a few do overs and redesigns on the run. I certainly learned a few tricks along the way that would prove useful and quicker for my next potential build.20210606_082435.jpg20210606_082632.jpg

I used a combination of 2X4's and laminated wood out of 3/4 plywood. Certainly there are lighter options but none that would work for the tools and abilities that I have. I used 1/8" luan for the skin and 1 1/2" foam board insulation. 20210606_181429.jpg20210606_181035.jpg20210704_171846.jpg

Siding is regular fiberglas 20210721_170016.jpgRV siding and standard RV windows and trim. The door is custom size RV door to fit the size opening I had. I thought about making a door but figured this would definitely have a cleaner look.20210724_133311.jpg

Standard truck camper jacks and lighting. I used bed liner on the bottom and up 2" on the side to help seal the bottom. I plan to bring the bedliner up the sides to the bottom of the wings for more protection against scratching from stored stuff in the bed.20210823_181028.jpg

OP
W

Wolverine

Lil-Rokslider