We ran out of time and had to freeze meat and butcher at home

waterhome

FNG
We had an epic hunt and we ran out of time before we had to fly home. So we froze the meat in whole groups rough trimmed before we had the chance to butcher it. I have never done this before.

Any tips for thawing it out just enough to butcher our steaks, roasts, stews, and grinds?

Lean meats usually can be thawed and refrozen fine, it's the fatty stuff that doesn't work well. I've refrozen deer and Elk sometimes quite a few times, never noticed an issue. Keep it cold obviously, thaw in a cooler or refrigerator not out on the counter or rapidly under water, etc. I have an electric ice chest that's perfect for it.

I freeze almost all my deer before I process. I put it in a tub in my frig on Monday/Tuesday if I am going to process the next Saturday. No issue refreezing the cut up and packaged meat. I would suppose you could thaw it in a cooler as well if your short on space in the frig. I like to keep it all cold while thawing.
My lease is 9 hrs from home and I sure am not able to process right when I get home. Sometimes
I process loins the day after i get home but the bulk of meat goes right in the freezer from my camp cooler.

Everything I process is done like that. Throw in an empty cooler to slowly thaw out, when it gets just thawed enough start cutting. Actually makes it easier to cut and a lot easier to trim up, but wear gloves because cold hands become a problem on big animals.
In my garage it usually takes about 2-3 days to be ready to cut, depending on how full the cooler is and quality of cooler.

chizelhead

Lil-Rokslider
I think the key thing is to let it thaw slowly before cutting. That's what a butcher would do with frozen elk quarters we dropped off. I'm not sure why, but others have mentioned it on this post as well.

Last edited:

Jethro

WKR
I've never had any issues. Thaw it in the fridge and then do my thing.