.50 cal muzzleloader bullet to bore vs sabot

I'm new to muzzleloading and just got a .50 cal knight ultralight. I am getting ready to work up a load for it and I am wondering if I would be better off to go with a Thor bullet, bullet to bore or a parker ballistic extreme with a sabot? I'm hoping to to get a range of 250 yards to hunt deer and amtelope. As I understand a lot of people are moving away from sabots and going toward bullet to bore. Any thought and advice would be appreciated.

OP
Roll_the_Knob!
Yeah sabotloader seems VERY knowledgeable. I'm hoping to get his opinion as well as others but since I'm new to the forum I can't send PM yet.

eltaco

WKR
Last year was my first year shooting muzzleloader and I started with a Knight mountaineer. Through wayyyy too much trial and error I landed on the following:

Fury Universal Fit - 320gr
Blackhorn 209 - 80.5gr (w)
Federal 209A primer
No base wad

That combo would shoot sub-MOA at 300yds. I tested lighter loads of BH and had troubles below 105gr (v)

I just picked up an UL and going to start with a similar load. Good luck!

Last edited:
I have never used that bullet so I really cannot comment on it.

I would tell you that I have been totally spoiled by the Lehigh CF bullets, but Wilson Combat has bought them out and I am not sure when/if they will offer the CF line of bullets.

My next choice would be the Barnes Expander line of bullets.

In previous time I would highly suggest to you the Lehigh .451x230 CF- HP for deer antelope.

Lehigh_451x230_CF-HP.jpg

Lehigh-451x230-BH.jpg

mike

If you are allowed to run sabots in your state, I had great results with barnez TMZ on deer and antelope. I was able to get better groups than full bore bullets from my CVA. I was getting right at 1 MOA groups at 100 yds with blackhorn 209, but I've never shot it passed 150 yds.

ole hunter

Lil-Rokslider