7mm Rem Mag vs the new age

sdupontjr

WKR
I want to hear from you guys to help me understand something. Last year, I started playing around with my older 7mag. Watched tons of videos and such about dealing with the belt, head spacing off the shoulder rather than the belt, bumping shoulder back, etc. Developed some very accurate loads with 163 eld's given my 9.5 twist rate.

The latest videos that I have saw and read claim that the 7 PRC is superior to the 7mag. Sure folks hate the belt, the cartridge is outdated, not the new kid on the block. I totally understand the 7 PRC is a modern design cartridge allowing the bullet to be seated out to or at the neck / shoulder junction to maximize the cartridge to its full potential while in factory form. Coupled with a properly twisted barrel, you have something that someone could just go buy off the shelf both gun and ammo and go shoot. But this is the reloading section. Everything that I know about the 7mag in factory ammo for the last 30+ years of shooting it is the factory ammo is Neutered. The 7mag isn't loaded to maximize its potential.
7mm.JPG
The pic is of course the Rem mag on left and PRC on the right. Every pic that I have seen of the PRC is just about in this form. This particular round is 175 eldx. The article claims that in factory from, the 7PRC with a 175 eldx will outrun the 7mag with 175 eldx by about 100 fps. My question is what about maximizing the 7mag? Seat its bullet out to the neck / shoulder junction, so that it doesn't impede into the powder column. Throat the barrel to accommodate the length of the cartridge if needed. Modify mag length if needed. (in my case, my rifle will hold and cycle up to 3.715" with no issues)