Advice on Sewing

Archerichards

Lil-Rokslider
I try to work on as much of my own gear as I can. Been thinking about getting a second hand sewing machine for use on repairs and adjustments to clothes, outerwear and such. Materials would be medium to heavy weight fabrics, light canvas, things like That. I dont want to have a lot of money tied up in it. Advice on what kind of machine to look for?

Any advice appreciated.

Marble

WKR
This is what I use. It's a sears model that's probably 30 years old. It is a very high quality machine and can do a lot.

I can basically fix minor rips, seam separations and patch stuff. But I struggle to remember how to properly route both threads each time. And I am not good at it, but I make it work.

This is a craft, a trade, something people make a living at.

I know for some materials you need specific needles or you'll break them.

I would suggest a book of some type. I wish I was more help but really I don't know shit.
1c3b066798cb94290a2eb646984ec51b.jpg

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

I use an old Singer 500 slant-o-matic (might be a 503?).It’s got metal gears. Works good for webbing, canvas, ect… as long as you don’t get too thick stacking layers. Then it just breaks the needle.

cnelk

WKR
I have an old Bernette. I learned to sew way back when I was in 4H. My mom is still sewing stuff.

I fix all kinds of stuff and gear. I use a #100 needle for most heavy items.

tuffcity

WKR
If you're looking to spend $100 on a machine then disregard but...

I would have been a 3rd gen upholsterer if I hadn't pursued a different career path but grew up doing the upholstery thing (auto, marine, furniture) and when my father passed many years ago I kept a lot of his tools. One being a Juki industrial machine. Might get back into custom stuff as a side hustle when I retire.

If you're looking to sew anything from light cotton to heavy webbing look for a good used one. Even a 35 year old machine in good repair is a keeper.

OP