Ammo choice for 12ga upland hunting

What ammo are y'all using in your 12ga for upland hunting? Shot size, brand, etc. I have a Mossberg 500 that can run up to 3in shells and I'm looking for some advice on what to use for some late season pheasant and grouse hunting in about two weeks. I've shot a lot of skeet and trap but, other than turkey, I have limited bird hunting experience so any advice you have would be really helpful.

sconnieVLP

Lil-Rokslider
I shoot solely 2 3/4” shells for pheasants, haven’t found a need to go to 3”. Later in the year for wild birds I’m normally going with a 1 1/4oz #5 in the ~1300 fps range. I don’t really care for the high velocity 1400-1500fps stuff, it doesn’t pattern as well for me and if you’re shooting lead or other higher density shot you don’t really need that like you do with steel.

We have pen raised pheasants as well, when I’m hunting planted birds I’ll go down to a #7 since they tend to hold tighter and end up with closer flushes.

t_carlson

WKR
As an all-around upland load, I'd say 1 1/8 or 1 1/4 oz #6 shot. Most brands will do fine, just make sure you get high antimony or copper plated shot.

But for late season pheasants, when they get spooky and have grown more feathers, 1 1/4 or 1 3/8 oz of #4 are hard to beat. I like the copper plated stuff from Federal.

WKR
Used some Fiocchi Golden Pheasant 2 3/4" loads last 2 falls. They did well on wild pheasants recently. I used 5 shot. If I was hunting an area with more quail than pheasants I may go to 6 shot.

1 1/8 or 1 1/4 oz of #5 or 6 lead is all you need. If non tox is required 1 1/16 or 1 1/8 of steel 4s. 2 3/4” on all of them.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

fwafwow

WKR