Archery Elk question from new elk hunter

Hogslayer

FNG
I am 52 and a seasoned hunter from the s.e., but i am new to elk hunting. I have been wanting to go elk hunting for decades, but life and other things always got in the way. I decided to make it happen since i'm not getting any younger. I have a strategy question that keeps coming into my head. I have done hours and hours of e-scouting for the wilderness area that i'm going to hunt. I have lots of gps spots marked from a couple miles from the trailhead to many miles deeper into the wilderness area. The terrain is rough and steep in this wilderness area. I am going out in late July to scout for 5 days and check the gps spots to put boots on the ground and see what they look like for real, and to look for other glassing spots, wallows, good areas.

I plan on bow hunting Sept 19 - 25. My question is, should I hunt my way out to my farther waypoints 6+ miles back or spend valuable time hunting the closer spots that have been hit already by ppl and work my way out to my further spots more slowly?
I am thinking of just bypassing my closer 2-4 mile spots and go straight to the furthest ones in hopes that the elk will be pushed out that way, or at least not messed with as much. But I don't really want to pass prospective elk along the way unnecessarily.

PS edit: in response to comments of going deep and camping back there and being able to haul out an elk. 16 year old son will be with me so packing/hauling is shared. Not wanting to have input derailed into whether a first time elk hunter should be going deep or not. Really just looking for input focused specifically as to whether to hunt my way deep over a couple days, or just head straight back deep where I think elk might get pushed to, or at least less messed with.

Thanks for any input.

Last edited:
OP
Hogslayer

Hogslayer

FNG